Elections to 13 Rajya Sabha seats on March 31

The Election Fee on Monday introduced polls to fill 13 Rajya Sabha seats throughout six states falling vacant in April, together with these of Congress veterans AK Antony and Anand Sharma, which can be scheduled to be held on March 31.

Outstanding amongst these retiring are Antony (Kerala), Sharma (Himachal Pradesh), and Partap Singh Bajwa and Naresh Gujral (Punjab). Whereas former Protection Minister Antony, Deputy Chief of Congress in Rajya Sabha Sharma and Bajwa are Congress leaders, Gujral represents the Shiromani Akali Dal.

️ Subscribe Now: Get Specific Premium to entry the very best Election reporting and evaluation ️

Members from Assam (two), Himachal (one), Kerala (three), Nagaland (one) and Tripura (one) are retiring on April 2, whereas 5 members from Punjab are retiring on April 9.

“Out of the 5 seats to be crammed from Punjab, three are to be crammed by holding one election and the opposite two via one other election as these seats belong to 2 completely different biennial cycles,” the EC stated.

The notification for the biennial elections will likely be issued on March 14 and the polls will likely be held on March 31. The counting will happen on the day of polling from 5 pm onwards.

The EC has additionally directed the Chief Secretaries involved to depute a senior officer from the state to make sure that the extant directions relating to Covid-19 containment measures are complied with whereas making preparations for conducting the elections.

Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment